Book Blurbs: September 2023

Surprised by Suffering: The Role of Pain and Death in the Christian Life by R.C. Sproul (published by Reformation Trust Publishers, 2010). 156 pages. I have read many books like this one from a host of authors, so it is possible the content of this book may get lost in the allotment of other books. That is not to say this book wasn’t helpful or worthy of recommendation. It is both. I simply didn’t it contributing any way to my theology of suffering. However, if you like the writing of Sproul, buy this one. BOOK RATING: 8 out of 10 stars.

Total Truth: Liberating Christianity from Its Cultural Captivity by Nancy Pearcey (published by Crossway, 2005). 511 pages. “Boredom” is the word I would use for my book-reading experience. I couldn’t finish it, even though I made it through about half of the book. Every now and then, I would figure out what the author was saying, but normally I was dazed and confused with the chapter themes. I think this book was an attempt to show Christians their worldview is better than all others, but I am was left thinking that such an important topic should be clearer and more obvious than this author delivered. BOOK RATING: 3 out of 10 stars.

How Can I Serve My Church? by Matthew Emadi (published by Crossway, 2021). 52 pages. As part of “Church Questions” series, 9Marks continues to give us biblical help in the area of ecclesiology. This short booklet will encourage the faithful servants to excel still more and motivate the idle to jump in and serve their church family. It’s not a booklet about spiritual gifts (even though they are mentioned briefly) and more a booklet about just doing something to benefit others. BOOK RATING: 9 out of 10 stars.

God Alone: His Unique Attributes and How Knowing Them Changes Us by Jonathan Griffiths (published by Moody Publishers, 2022). 146 pages. I don’t often read books on the attributes of God that were not worth reading. Even though many of them can be repetitive in themes and importance, studying the Personhood of God seems inexhaustible. This book is yet another resource in this endless pursuit of knowing God and His character. It’s not a book giving information on every attribute – only some incommunicable attributes (e.g., eternity, omnipotence, unchanging, independence, incomprehensible, omniscience, omnipresence, glorious). This is not a book that is too deep for any level of mature Christian. BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

Sharing Your Faith with Friends and Family by Michael Green (published by Baker Books, 2005). 155 pages. When I read a book on evangelism, I pray that it stokes or provokes me in some way to be more faithful in my witnessing. This book didn’t really do that. There were no truths that I disagreed with or that I believed to be unbiblical, but the author fell short of motivating us readers to be more evangelistic. BOOK RATING: 8 out of 10 stars.

Courageous Faith: Life Lessons from Old Testament Heroes by Ed Hindson (published by AMG Publishers, 2003). 208 pages. Not a very creative or thoughtful book. Each chapter is a biographical sketch of an O.T. character (e.g., Abraham, Jacob, Joseph, Moses, Joshua, Gideon, Jephthah, Samson, Boaz, David, Jonathan, Daniel, Nehemiah) with a few brief points of application and discussion questions. But each sketch is just a re-telling of an event in their life. It’s not really a commentary or Bible study. It’s really the author re-telling events in his own words with very little explanation. BOOK RATING: 7 out of 10 stars.

The Storytelling God: Seeing the Glory of Jesus in His Parables by Jared C. Wilson (published by Crossway, 2014). 187 pages. I have other studies on parables that I think are better (e.g., Boice, MacArthur, Wiersbe). At times, I was a bit confused on some of this author’s conclusions and interpretations. His hermeneutics of interpreting parables could be confusing at times, and I wasn’t always convinced he found the main point of the parable. On the other hand, I didn’t discover anything heretical or grossly erroneous – just confusing at times. I would probably still use this book as a resource for studying parables, as he does source some strong quotes in church history. BOOK RATING: 8 out of 10 stars.

Steps Toward Heaven by J.C. Ryle (published by The Banner of Truth Trust, 2017). 169 pages. I have other studies on parables that I think are better (e.g., Boice, MacArthur, Wiersbe). This is Ryle talking about the Gospel according to Jesus before MacArthur wrote that infamous book. Ryle draws biblical questions about one’s profession of faith not matching the fruit in their life. He delineates the difference between justification and sanctification. He helps his readers understand the true nature of saving faith. I would give this book to someone I suspect might be deceived about their salvation. BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

Can Christianity Cure Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder? A Psychiatrist Explores the Role of Faith in Treatment by Ian Osborn (published by Brazos Press, 2008). 208 pages. Certainly, this is a counseling help filled with integration (the mixing of secular psychology and biblical counseling). When the author refers to Scripture, he is right on. When he appeals to a secular worldview of psychiatry, I am not sure how he seeks to meld these 2 worldviews together with consistency. You will learn some very fascinating truths about the potential OCD of men like John Bunyan and Martin Luther. It’s hard to argue that they wouldn’t be labeled OCD if they were alive today, and how they handled these tendencies biblically is very encouraging. I will probably seek to use the biblical counseling parts of this book more than the secular approaches. BOOK RATING: 7 out of 10 stars.

The Rating Scale

  • 1 star – Awful, awful book. I have already thrown it away and/or burned it. I may have not even finished reading the book.
  • 2 stars – The only reason to keep this book is to refer to it as bad theology or to prop other books up on my shelf.
  • 3 stars – Frustrating read, couldn’t find much that I enjoyed.
  • 4 stars – Will do you more harm than good to read.
  • 5 stars – I disagree with significant conclusions but also found agreement in areas of importance.
  • 6 stars – Buy this book used. Readers will probably be divided on the value of its contents.
  • 7 stars – Not sure if I found the book valuable or not. Need to process more.
  • 8 stars – The main points of the book are good, but I don’t always understand how they are supported.
  • 9 stars – Hardly noticeable complaints or flaws. A book I recommend for purchase.
  • 10 stars – Tremendously helpful. A book that I will read multiple times in my life.

Leave a comment