Happy Father’s Day

When I think of my parents and Annie’s parents, I know I am blessed. It is not often that a married couple like us can boast and thank the Lord for giving us godly parents that love the Lord.

So, when I see and read God referring to Himself as the Father, I am aware that my own Dad and Annie’s dad are not perfect examples of what God is like, but they aren’t inadequate either. They both give me glimpse of my Creator.

The passage that comes to my mind when I think of my Dad is Deuteronomy 6:6-9 – “And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates” My Dad bleeds the Bible. His ability to recall and integrate Scripture into life is unparalleled. He loves God’s Word more than man’s word. His relentless pursuit of knowing God inspires all who he shepherds as a pastor, befriends, and reaches out to. I am happy to have him as a Dad.

The verse that comes to my mind when I think of my father-in-law is Proverbs 20:7 – “The righteous who walks in his integrity – blessed are his children after him.” My father-in-law could be summed up with the word integrity. It suits him well as a man above reproach who serves as an elder at his church. He served in law enforcement for decades and kept his faith and testimony in the recurring challenges and temptations of evil. Both of these men are role models for all young men.

They are worthy of our admiration and a “Happy Father’s Day!”

Image result for happy fathers day

 

Leave a Reply

