Strategies of Satan

Image result for biblical doctrineThe following is adapted from Biblical Doctrine: A Systematic Summary of Bible Truth (pgs. 687-689):

Satan fights in a myriad of ways and through a myriad of worldviews. Below is a list of strategies of Satan and an antidote of God’s truth.

  1. Sensualism: Attractiveness and desirability have replaced God’s Word as my standard for determining God’s best in my life. God’s mind: II Timothy 3:16-17
  2. Sensationalism: I believe that immediate success is more desirable than success in God’s time. God’s mind: I Corinthians 1:18-25
  3. Universalism: Because we live together in the same world with the same king of imperfections, we will live together in eternity. God’s mind: John 1:12-13; 3:36; 5:24
  4. Rationalism: I am the master of my fate and the captain of my soul. God’s mind: John 3:16-21
  5. Illusionism: I believe that everything that appears or claims to be of God is of God without further investigation. God’s mind: Deuteronomy 13:1-5; I John 4:1-4
  6. Ecumenism: I believe that all sincere religions involved valid expressions of worshipping the true God. God’s mind: Acts 4:12
  7. Humanism: I alone can defeat Satan without God’s help. God’s mind: John 15:5
  8. Situationalism: I believe that God’s Word is flexible enough to bend when I judge that the situation demands it. God’s mind: Psalm 119:89
  9. Individualism: My chief marriage responsibility is to satisfy myself, not my partner. God’s mind: Ephesians 5:22-25
  10. Isolationism: My reputation will have an effect on no one else but me. God’s mind: II Samuel 12:14; I Timothy 6:1; Titus 2:5
  11. Hedonism: Because God has remove my home responsibilities, I am free to satisfy myself while the church supports me. God’s mind: II Thessalonians 3:10
  12. Materialism: I prize material and physical blessings more highly than my spiritual relationship with Jesus Christ. God’s mind: Matthew 6:33
  13. Defeatism: Because I have failed, I am no longer useful in the King’s service. God’s mind: Psalm 32:1-7
  14. Negativism: My weakness prevents me from being effective for God. God’s mind: Philippians 4:13
  15. Pessimism: The difficult circumstances in my life cause me to doubt that I will ever accomplish anything significant for God. God’s mind: Psalm 37:23-24
  16. Egotism: I will attribute what I am or what I will achieve in my own accomplishments rather than to God’s activities in my life. God’s mind: Jeremiah 9:24-25; I Peter 5:6
  17. Nominalism: Because I am saved and my sins are forgiven, my present lifestyle is unimportant. God’s mind: I John 2;1-6
  18. Cultism: My salvation will be based on works rather than on faith in Jesus Christ. God’s mind: Ephesians 2:8-9
  19. Uniformitarianism: My relationship with trespassing believers will remain the same despite their repentance and change of heart toward God. God’s mind: Ephesians 4:32
  20. Assertivism: It is healthy for me to vent my anger frequently for lengthy periods of time. God’s mind: James 1:19-20”
Leave a Reply

