Crave

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands” (Psalm 63:1-4).

As you can probably tell, this is the theme verse of Psalm 63 and the one that sets up every other verse in the Psalm. David begins with “O God, You are my God.” It’s as if David had in mind a particular attribute about God and was saying, “God, you are my Almighty God. It is the one attribute I need most right now.” He does more than simply pray here; he sets God before himself as his God. He doesn’t just know facts about God; He knows him in a deeply personal way.

David adds “early will I seek You.” If David means he gets up in the morning and the 1st thing he does is seek God, that would imply he is earnest to seek after God. It would mean that it is his 1st thought in the morning. Or it could be that David is saying, “I seek you WITH earnestness.” Either interpretation is possible and communicates the heart of David.

At the age of 19, Jonathan Edwards wrote in his diary and made the following covenant to God:

“On January 12, 1723, I made a solemn dedication of myself to God, and wrote it down; giving up myself, and all that I had to God; to be for the future, in no respect, my own; to act as one that had no right to himself, in any respect. And solemnly vowed to take God for my whole portion and felicity; looking on nothing else, as any part of my happiness, nor acting as if it were; and his law for the constant rule of my obedience: engaging to fight against the world, the flesh and the devil, to the end of my life.”

Edwards, like David, set himself out entirely for God’s use.

Consider that David is seeking God in a place or circumstance where his resources are limited (e.g., “where there I no water”). What a testimony that we see here of a man who had all the spiritual conveniences taken from his life and yet instead of growing apathetic, he longs for God even more.

David wanted God more than he wanted life. He wanted God more than family, more than health, more than food, more than friendship, more than sex, more than a good job, more than books, more than computers, more than music, more than movies, more than homes, more than sunsets, etc. All the beauty is this world doesn’t compare to His want of God (vs. 3-4).

How about you? Who or what do you crave?

psalm-63

Leave a Reply

