12 Days of Christmas Music – Little Drummer Boy

One of the most criticized Christmas songs is “The Little Drummer Boy.”

Many people get tired of the “pa rum pum pum pum’s” and I admit they can get a little old after a while.

The song tells the story of a little boy called to the scene of Jesus in a manger alongside of the wise men. The wise men have brought expensive gifts but this little boy doesn’t have the extravagant gifts they do.

“Little Drummer Boy” contains one of my favorite lines in all of Christmas “musicdom.” Here they are – “Little baby, I am a poor boy too. I have no gift to bring that’s fit to give the king. Shall I play for you on my drum?” And later – “I played my best for you.”

It reminds me that God isn’t impressed with excess. God isn’t enthralled with our accomplishments. God wants our heart. He wants our humble service. In his wisdom, He has given each of us talents and gifts, and all He asks is that we be faithful stewards of those gifts and talents.

If I have used them to bless Him, then, as the song goes, I will be able to say “He smiled at me”, which is another way of saying, “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”

 

Leave a Reply

