Book Ranking – 8 out of 10

Book Title: Is It My Fault? Hope and Healing for Those Suffering Domestic Violence, by Justin S. Holcomb and Lindsey A. Holcomb (published by Moody Publishers, 2014)

Is It My FaultThis book will become a resource for me and one I will recommend to others to in the future. However, there are a few areas of disappointment that I will mention briefly.

Of real help are the appendices where the authors give practical questions and answers for developing a plan when someone needs to flee their current home or place of employment due to a safety concern. These appendices provide counselors, pastors, friends and family of those victims with the tools needed to allow a potential victim of domestic abuse to design an escape route if they need to leave their location suddenly. These few chapters are probably worth the purchase of the entire book.

I wasn’t as helped with the author’s explanation of how God views domestic violence, as most biblically literature individuals are going to be aware of what the Bible says about domestic violence. I suppose if you had no idea what the Bible teaches about violence, you might be helped. But even a casual reader of the Bible can skip these sections.

Readers of this book will be helped with Ch. 2 where the authors answer the question, “Am I in an Abusive Relationship?” Here the authors give a number of questions that will equip readers with diagnosing what type and level of current or potential abuse they are facing. And the authors are wise to mention that domestic abuse is not the only form of abuse to look for (e.g., verbal, economical, social, sexual, etc.).

Chapters 11-13 are meditations on various Psalms (Ps 18, 22, 55) that are meant to encourage victims. These chapters will be good sections for future counselees to read as homework following counseling sessions.

Generally speaking, I found this book to be helpful when it came to the practical tips on how to protect yourself from abuse and understanding what kinds of abuse are common. However, if you are looking for a book going into detail on what the Bible has to say on the subject, you may not be satisfied with the lack of depth. I would have preferred more Scripture.

I would like to thank Moody Publishers for giving me a copy of this book to read, review and apply to my current ministry. 

 

