John MacArthur, Why I Love the Church

The Sunday feature of the Worldly Saints blog is all about quotes. No commentary from me, no reflection, etc. Just a provocative or informative quote from a saint in church history.

MacArthur John“I love the church. I am inveterate and incurable lover of the church. It thrills me beyond expression to serve the church. Although I am also involved in some parachurch ministries, I wouldn’t trade my ministry in the church for all of them combined. The church takes first place in my ministry priorities, and all the parachurch ministries I serve are subordinate to, and grow out of, my ministry in the church. …

“There’s a lot of talk these days about ‘user-friendly’ churches. Church growth experts counsel church leaders to try to provide an atmosphere in which ‘unchurched’ people can feel comfortable and at home. That strikes me as an utterly wrong-headed approach to the church. ‘Unchurched’ people who come into our fellowship out to leave saying to themselves, I have ever seen anything like this on earth! If they walk away thinking, Ah, that felt comfortable. That was familiar – then something is seriously wrong. The church should be like a preview of heaven.

“The apostle Paul wrote of ‘the household of God, which is the church of the living God, the pillar and support of the truth’ (1 Tim. 3:15). More than any other institution on earth, the church is where the truth of God is upheld. The church is called to lift up the truth and hold it high. Employing the truth as a weapon, we are to smash the ideological fortresses of Satan’s lies (2 Cor. 10:3-5). And it is in the pursuit of that goal that the church will ultimately realize her greatest triumph.

“All of that is why I love the church. And as long as the Lord gives me breath, I hope to invest my life and energies in the ministry and advancement of the church’s mission.”

John MacArthur, “Why I Love the Church”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

