Book Blurbs: February 2016

Here are some books I had the privilege of reading this past month and here are some initial thoughts about each one.

No Compromise#1 – No Compromise: The Life Story of Keith Green by Melody Green and David Hazard (published by The Sparrow Corporation, 1983). Keith Green has long been one of my favorite musicians in church history. Despite his charismatic bent, he preached Lordship salvation, deplored the prosperity Gospel and loved to preach the Gospel in his music. I love his honesty, his passion for His Savior, and his inspiring style of worship.

BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

 

Battle for Beginning#2 – The Battle for the Beginning: Creation, Evolution and the Bible by John MacArthur (published by Thomas Nelson Publishers, 2001). Few books on the creation/evolution debate are written by a Christian for the Christian laymen. They tend to be too technical for the average Christian or too broad and leave out science entirely. What I love about this resource is the happy medium of scientific fact and biblical exposition.

BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

 

 

Manly Dominion#3 – Manly Dominion in a Passive-Purple Four Ball World by Mark Chanski (published by Calvary Press Publishing, 2004). I was disappointed in this book. I have heard such great things about his companion book Womanly Dominion; thus, my expectations were high. However, I left thinking his view of manhood was nothing more than a legalistic, harsh, overbearing flavor of federal headship, which I reject. And his analogy of the passive-purple ball made no sense to me. I scratched my head every time he referred to it as a depiction of the passive male leader. There are too many other good books on manhood; I won’t be returning to this one anytime soon.

BOOK RATING: 2 out of 10 stars.

 

Secret Thoughts Butterfield#4 – The Secret Thoughts of an Unlikely Convert: An English Professor’s Journey into Christian Faith by Rosaria Champagne Butterfield (published by Crown and Covenant Publications, 2014). This book has been on my “must read” list from the 1st time I heard of it. And the book didn’t disappoint. You can follow this autobiography of a once liberal-feminist-lesbian English professor who now is a Reformed pastor’s wife. The hospitality of Christian people helped win her to the Lord and she is now taking advantage of her abilities and contact to spread the Gospel in a world that many Christians are still trying to figure out how to penetrate.

BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

Leave a Reply

