The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints blog is all about reading. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book or magazine article or blog post I have or am reading. At times, I may post a book blurb (a wannabe book review) or recommend books to be read by others.

A few weeks ago, John MacArthur was asked what six books he would take with him on a deserted island. MacArthur said he would take

  1. Steven Charnock’s The Existence and Attributes of God
  2. B.B. Warfield’s The Inspiration and Authority of the Bible
  3. Charles Hodge’s Systematic Theology
  4. A biography of William Carey
  5. His own The Gospel According to Jesus
  6. The Macarthur Study Bible

I don’t the significance of getting to choose six books on this deserted island, but that was how he answered.

Deserted IslandNow, I am no where near as brilliant, profound, relevant or sound as MacArthur but I thought it might be fun to attempt to answer the same question. Feel free to debate what I include in my list or add your own list.

If I was on a deserted island with six books of my choice, they would be

  1. J.C. Ryle’s Holiness: It’s Nature, Hindrances, Difficulties, and Roots – Outside of the Bible, no book has had a more significant, ongoing impact on my life than this one.
  2. John S. Feinberg’s No One Like Him – I don’t know how long I would be on this island, but I assume I will have a lot of time to read. So I would take this 880-page book on the attributes of God with me.
  3. Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology – This single volume work will give me a little bit to argue against since I don’t agree with a few issues Grudem writes about (e.g., his views on prophecy and the miraculous gifts). It might be fun debating an imaginary Grudem on the island. I do enjoy his commitment to make theology devotional by adding songs and prayers at the end of each chapter to help further crystallize the theme.
  4. Charles Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening – Having a devotional book would be a must – especially if I don’t have a Bible. And the “Prince of Preachers” would be at the top of my list.
  5. Harold Bainton’s Here I Stand – This biography of Luther is still one of my favorites.
  6. J. Dwight Pentecost’s The Words and Works of Jesus Christ – While I would prefer to have Raymond Brown’s two-volume work on the death of Christ, that is two books and I only have one book left to choose. So I choose Pentecost’s harmony and commentary of the life of Christ in the four Gospels.

What about you? Which books would be your companions on a deserted island?

