Aging: Fun or Not So Fun?

Aging is not fun.

Every now and then, I pay more attention to parts of my body that aren’t as efficient as they used to be.

A few nights ago, I had a dream about a bear attacking me. He started to chew off my leg. When I woke up, I had a leg cramp in the same place the bear was chewing my leg off. And my leg still hurts – 2 days later!

I think back even 15-20 years ago when I was in college and I think about the energy I had to stay up to 1:00am and wake up at 6:00am with no problems and no need for naps.

Now, if I were to try to do that, and there have been times in ministry that occurs, I am a physical wreck the next day. If I don’t get a nap, my body is just asking for a sickness of some kind.

Aging happens to all of us. Last week, I was re-reading Ecclesiastes 12:3-8 where Solomon is also reflecting on the aging process –

In the day when the keepers of the house [the arms and hands] tremble, and the strong men (the legs, knees, shoulders] are bent, and the grinders [the teeth] cease because they are few, and those who look through the windows [the eyes, ears and mouth] are dimmed, and the doors on the street are shut—when the sound of the grinding is low, and one rises up at the sound of a bird, and all the daughters of song are brought low— they are afraid also of what is high, and terrors are in the way; the almond tree blossoms, the grasshopper drags itself along, and desire fails, because man is going to his eternal home, and the mourners go about the streets— before the silver cord is snapped, or the golden bowl is broken, or the pitcher is shattered at the fountain, or the wheel broken at the cistern, and the dust returns to the earth as it was, and the spirit returns to God who gave it. Vanity of vanities, says the Preacher; all is vanity.”

Solomon talks about the body breaking down, and he is right. The body will decay; it will become less efficient; it will weaken overtime.

But, aging doesn’t have to be dying. It can and should be about growing, maturing, serving, ministering, etc.

Aging

Aging should be about the man or woman of God growing stronger in their faith. Aging should be about the man or woman of God deepening in their fellowship with the Lord. Aging should be about the man or woman of God growing in their dependence on the Holy Spirit. Aging should be about the man or woman of God maturing in their ability to dispense wisdom from God’s Word. Aging should be about the man or woman of God serving more often and more sincerely.

So maybe I was incorrect in my original statement. Aging should be “fun.” It is “fun” not in the playful sense, but in the reality that God is “who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ” (Phil 1:6).

So I stand corrected – again isn’t so bad!

Leave a Reply

