Books That I Read in October 2015

#1 – Counseling the Hard Cases: True Stories Illustrating the Sufficiency of God’s Resources in Scripture edited by Stuart Scott and Heath Lambert. To read my thoughts on this book, go to my previous Book Review Blurb.

BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

#2 – A Theology of Christian Counseling: More Than Redemption by Jay Adams. This book reads more like a sermon manuscript than a book. Other than that feature, it is a very helpful resource for someone who needs to understand how important one’s theological foundation is and how it impacts their counseling. Adams shows the relevance of special revelation, the trinity, man, sin, sanctification, salvation, the Holy Spirit, perseverance, suffering, church discipline, death and judgment on one’s approach to biblical counseling.

BOOK RATING: 8 out of 10 stars.

#3 – Charity and Its Fruits by Jonathan Edwards. This is Jonathan Edwards’ commentary on I Corinthians 13. If you are an Edwards “fan,” go ahead and stop reading HERE. I was not as excited about the content of this book as I hoped. I think it gets too philosophical in an area that requires more practical discussion. I found myself frustrated at times trying to answer the question, “So what?” I admit I may not be smart enough to appreciate its value, and I am sure I will return to it at another time in life, but for now there are other resources for I Corinthians 13 I will consult first.

BOOK RATING: 6 out of 10 stars.

#4 – Helping without Hurting in Church Benevolence by Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert. To read my thoughts on this book, go to my previous Book Review Blurb.

BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

#5 – The Peacemaker by Ken Sande. There isn’t another book I would recommend on the issue of resolving conflict. I remember how many times I was asked on church applications for how to resolve conflict, and I wish I had this resource as a guide. This is not a book just for counselors or pastors. Every Christian needs to read this book. It includes help on what it means to be at peace with others, trusting God amidst conflict, confession of person sin, church discipline, forgiveness, rebuking a brother, etc. His 4 G’s of Peacemaking will be a help for years to come (glorify God, get the log out of you own eye, gently restore, and go and be reconciled).

BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

Leave a Reply

