Books That I Read in September 2015

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints is all about reading. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book or magazine article or blog post I have or am reading. At times, I may post a book blurb (a wannabe book review) or recommend books to be read by others.

 

#1 – Design for Discipleship by Dwight Pentecost. Being a huge fan of Pentecost’s Word and Works of Christ, I had high hopes for this book on discipleship. I was sorely disappointed. It was poorly organized, poorly defended and I feel no more equipped of being a disciple or disciple. BOOK RATING: 3 out of 10 stars.

#2 – Knowing God by J.I. Packer. I have read this book countless times and it never disappoints. There are some very helpful books on the person and nature of God, but this is easily in my Top 3 list of theology proper. Every Christian needs to make an effort to read this book a few times in their Christian life to get a deeper understanding of His unchangeableness, majesty, wisdom, truthfulness, love, grace, justice, wrath, goodness, severity and jealousy. It will inspire your worship and lead you to prayer every time you read it. BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

#3 – The Master’s Men by William Barclay. I am stunned that men like Barclay, who was a professing universalist, can contribute so much helpful scholarship to Christianity. Every time I read a book by this author, I am blessed. This book is not an exception either. It is a rich source of information on the disciples. I place it behind MacArthur’s book on the disciples (12 Ordinary Men), but I will come to this well of encouragement over and over again in my Christian life. A great tool for every Christian if you like character sketches. BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

#4 – We Believe: Recovering the Essentials of the Apostles’ Creed by Michael Horton. This book came as a gift to me from a member in our congregation who is currently reading and studying creeds and confessions. Horton is a trust-worthy modern-day theologian who is careful to not elevate the Apostles’ Creed over Scripture but is also balanced enough to say that creeds like this one are helpful ways to synthesize theology. Horton exposits each line of the Apostles’ Creed very well and shows Scripturally how each line is a summary of Scripture’s teaching on that subject. If you are looking to read a good introduction to what the Apostles’ Creed is all about, start with this book. BOOK RATING: 10 out of 10 stars.

#5 – Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit by Francis Chan. Like other Chan books, I was disappointed. Other than his book Crazy Love, I am usually left with more questions than answers. And this was the case as well. It seemed to be more of a book asking and re-asking, “Don’t you want to sense the Spirit’s presence in your life” but never giving real biblical answers about how that was sound. The exegesis was minimal and the Scriptural references were too brief. BOOK RATING: 6 out of 10 stars.

#6 – But Under Bondage: Biblical Divorce for Abuse, Adultery, and Desertion by Barbara Roberts. While I wouldn’t say that I was persuaded by every argument the author made on abuse as grounds for divorce, I am very thankful I read this book. There were questions answered about separation and abandonment that I have had for years that I believe I have more clarity on. It was also helpful to be introduced to Puritans and Reformers who hold the view of abuse as grounds for divorce. This book is a must-read for any pastor or counselor.. BOOK RATING: 8 out of 10 stars.

Leave a Reply

