What I Hope to Read Soon and Why

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints is all about reading. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book or magazine article or blog post I have or am reading. At times, I may post a book blurb (a wannabe book review) or recommend books to be read by others.

 

I usually blog on Tuesdays about something I am currently reading, but I am actually in between books right now.

This rarely happens because I always have something I am reading – at least 2 books at a time. And every now and then, both of the books I am reading end at the same time and I go a day without reading anything new, because I haven’t chosen new reading material yet. So that is where I am at right now.

So for fun, I thought I would share with you about some books I hope to read sooner rather than later and why. I hope to get to many of these in 2015, or at least by 2016. So here goes – in the order I hope to read them.

  • We Believe by Michael Horton – a book “expositing” the Apostle’s Creed
  • Praying the Bible by Donald Whitney – recently released work on the discipline of using the Bible as vocabulary and thought in your prayers
  • Not Under Bondage: Biblical Divorce for Abuse, Adultery and Desertion by Barbara Rogers – most curiously about the defense the author gives on abuse, as the other 2 factors are fairly orthodox, but abuse is not
  • What Does the Bible Say About Homosexuality by Kevin DeYoung – the most referenced book in our modern times for thinking through the issue of gender, marriage, and sexuality
  • One Minute After You Die by Erwin Lutzer – a book on heaven that circulated through our church a little bit in the last few years
  • Meet Yourself in the Parables by Warren Wiersbe – a parable-by-parable exposition by one of the most gifted expositors in our time
  • Competent to Lead by Kenneth Gangel – another resource on church leadership from an author I have benefited from in the past
  • Chosen for Life by Sam Storms – a defense of the doctrine of election by a Third Wave theologian
  • Evangelical Feminism – a critique, from a biblical perspective, ln the feminist movement

There will likely be other books along the way that I get to, but these are the 8 I am looking forward to the most.

How do I choose what to read? Several factors lead to making this decision:

  • I read books that contribute to my study of whatever book or series I am preaching through. Right now that would be anything in I Corinthians or miraculous gifts.
  • I will read something if I have a subject I need to deepen my understanding on.
  • I read books that are having a significant influence on the church today – good or bad.
  • I will read books that people in my congregation ask me about. It is part of how I can shepherd or protect them from error, if necessary.
  • I enjoy reading books for my own encouragement and edification.
  • I like to read any books in my library that have not yet been read. Otherwise, they just collect dust and become useless.

Well, off to find the 1st book on my book reading list!

Leave a Reply

