Thanking God for Life Preservation

The Monday feature of the Worldly Saints blog focuses on a story from the sports world – current or historic. The point is to recognize athletes who are using their sports and athletic abilities to further the kingdom of God or to show how some athletes or teams are wasting their days by not giving God the glory.

 

Have you seen the video of the surfer who fought off a shark attack over the weekend? If not, watch this first. (WARNING: There are a few expletives in the video.)

The surfer’s name is Mike Fanning, who is a professional surfer from Australia and the competition was being held in Jeffreys Bay, South Africa. The attack happened during the final round of the J-Bay Open.

Fanning told Fox Sports, “I was just sitting there and I felt something just get stuck in my leg rope, and I was kicking trying to get it away. I just saw fins. I was waiting for the teeth. I was swimming in and I had this thought what if it comes for another go at me? So I turned around, so I could at least see it, and before I knew it the boat was there, the jet-skis were there, the jet-skis were there. I just can’t believe it.”

Fanning said later that his defense technique was a simple reactionary punch to the shark’s backside.

An Australian shark expert named Dr. Gruber told news.com.au, after viewing the photos and video footage that Fanning was “lucky as hell” to have survived.

When I read that comment, I wanted to email Fanning and encourage him to answer the question, “Why did God spare your life?”

I have no idea what kind of a man Fanning is. I don’t know if he believes in God or denies His existence. I don’t know if he is married, single, divorced, widowed, etc. But I do know this, God preserved his life.

I wonder how often God has spared our lives without our awareness or recognition. I wonder how often we have thanked the Lord for such a gracious act on our behalf. I wonder how appreciative we are for life in general.

Spend a few minutes today thanking the Lord for giving you life. Thank Him for protecting you in dangerous situations. Thank him for numbering your days.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

