J.D. Greear on the Filling of the Holy Spirit

The Sunday feature of the Worldly Saints blog is all about quotes. No commentary from me, no reflection, etc. Just a provocative or informative quote from a saint in church history.

 

Greear JD“If everything you do is explainable by natural giftings, then at your funeral people will likely give you credit for your accomplishments. But if God does things through you that are “impossible with me,” then at your funeral your friends are likely to give God the credit. The Spirit wants to glorify Jesus in your life, not you. Live today with your eulogy in mind, asking God to do through you what only he can get credit for. I want the summation of my life to be the words of Zechariah the prophet, “Not my might, nor by power, but by my Spirit,” says the Lord. (Zech 4:6) I’m yearning or the Holy Spirit to write a story through me that only his power can explain. I hope friends will summarize my life not as “the acts of J.D. Greear,” but “the Acts of the Holy Spirit … through and around J.D. Greear.” He’s writing the story of Jesus salvation project through me and following it as he unfolds it has become the great adventure of my life.”

– J.D. Greear in Jesus Continued

Leave a Reply

