Book Review Blurb: Heaven (“Theology in Community” series)

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints is all about reading. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book or magazine article or blog post I have or am reading. At times, I may post a book blurb (a wannabe book review) or recommend books to be read by others.

 

Last year at my church, Wichita Bible Church, we went through a summer-long series on heaven and hell entitled “Eternal Destinies.” During that time, I attempted to upgrade my own library section on that topic. For the topic of heaven I already owned The Glory of Heaven by John MacArthur and Heaven by Randy Alcorn. And with those two books and a few articles here and there I thought my collection on the subject of heaven was fairly complete. I didn’t research what else was available, but felt like those two books really covered the subject of heaven in a more than adequate fashion.

Fast forward to March 2015.

I was attending Shepherd’s Conference in Sun Valley, CA, perusing the bookstore (a tradition of any conference attendee) and trying to decide what array of books I wanted to add to my library. Usually, I shop for one of two kinds of books: a book that is related directly to something I am preaching on or will preach soon or a book on my ever growing “Most Wanted List.” I rarely purchase something else.

Not this time.

HeavenWhen I was at the table for Crossway, I saw a book entitled Heaven (a book in their “Theology in Community” series) edited by Robert A. Peterson and Christopher W. Morgan. This is the same Peterson whose book on hell (Hell on Trial) was foundational to my theology of hell. I browsed the table of contents and saw chapter titles such as “Heaven in the Old Testament,” “The History of Heaven,” “Heaven for Persecuted Saints,” and “Angels and Heaven.”

I also saw a collection of other authors contributing articles – men like Raymond Ortlund Hr., Andreas Kostenberger, and Ajith Fernando.

I simply had to have this book, and I am so thankful I do. I may put it at the top of my list when I complete reading it (still have three chapters to go). While Alcorn and MacArthur’s book have their purposes and I will continue to use them, this book edited by Peterson and Morgan is a fantastic resource.

They write with the purpose of looking at Scripture’s teaching on heaven and, as far as I can tell, they deal with every known passage that refers to heaven.

I find myself well-equipped to teach an entire course of heaven – thanks to this book.

If you are looking to read a book on heaven, any of the three I mentioned in this post are worth it, but if you want to read something that will paint with a broad brush throughout all of Scripture and even dip into extra-biblical thinking or understanding of heave, then buy and read this book.

Leave a Reply

