9 Books on the Reformation

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints blog references something I have been reading lately. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book, magazine article or blog post I have or am reading.

 

I started reading a book entitled Heroes in the Dark, which is a novel written by a family member of one of our members at Wichita Bible Church. Because I am only halfway through the book, I am hesitant to say much about it until I see the ending. But I hope by next week to have a better report and recommendation for you. So far I am really enjoying it.

Until then, I thought I might give you a list of books that can or should be read in regards to the Reformation. Since some of us celebrated Reformation Day a few days ago, I thought it might be timely to give you some reading material that you might find helpful to better educate yourself about the people and events surrounding this time in church history.

BIOGRAPHIES OF MARTIN LUTHER

  1. Here I Stand by Harold Bainton
  2. Luther and His Katie by Dolina MacCuish
  3. The Legacy of Sovereign Joy by John Piper

BIOGRAPHY OF JOHN CALVIN

  1. The Legacy of Sovereign Joy by John Piper
  2. The Expository Genius of John Calvin by Steve Lawson
  3. A Life of John Calvin by Alister McGrath

HISTORY OF THE REFORMATION

  1. The Story of Christianity by Justo Gonzalez (Vol. 2)
  2. History of the Christian Church by Philip Schaff (Vol. 8)
  3. Reformation Europe by De Lamar Jensen
Leave a Reply

