Charles Pack (1918-2014)

My last living grandparent died this morning.

For as long as I can remember, my Grandpa Pack has talked about being with the Lord. And if there is anyone I have ever met who is guaranteed to hear “Well done, thou good and faithful servant” (Matt 25:23) it is him. And about two hours ago, he left this world and went to the next. My Grandpa is in heaven!’

What a thought! In fact, the text I received from my Mom at 6:17am was this: “Grandpa’s in glory!” That about sums it up.

Pack CharlesMy Grandpa and I – no doubt – had some theological differences, but he was faithful to model the spirit of what Paul said in Philippians 1:18 – “What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice.” My Grandpa preached the Gospel countless times – probably more than the rest of his family combined. I was never with him as a child when he did not engage with a member of our community and left them a tract or said something to them about Jesus. He was that kind of Christian!

There are going to be a lot of tributes written about him in the weeks to come, because was a pastor with a television ministry in Tulsa, OK for many decades. And I want to honor the Lord by honoring my Grandpa; so I hope to share anything I read that I find appropriate and inspiring that unveils more of who my Grandpa was.

This morning, as I think about my Grandpa I will admit: there is no sadness but excitement. He is in a place where his pain has ceased, his mind has been restored, his rewards are piling up and his eternity with His Creator is just “beginning.” Can’t wait to see him there.

And I must say (and my Grandpa would want you to know this as well) – if you don’t know Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, and you don’t have the peace or assurance that death for you means being in God’s presence forever, today is a the day of salvation for you if you come to Him humbly acknowledging who Jesus is (a righteous and holy God who died for our sins when we couldn’t) and accept Him by faith.

Grandpa, with us, it’s not “goodbye.” It’s “see ya later.”

Leave a Reply

