College Football and Eternal Ecstasy

The Monday feature of the Worldly Saints blog focuses on a story from the sports world – current or historic. The point is to recognize athletes who are using their sports and athletic abilities to further the kingdom of God or to show how some athletes are wasting their days by not giving God the glory.

 

As college football approaches, my level of giddiness increases. I am reading every Sooner blog I can find, watching highlight film whenever I have time, putting their schedule into my calendar, etc. I love Sooner football … and college football in general.

When Saturdays come around, I am usually “locked in” to two things: OU football and reviewing for my sermon to be preached the next day.

Now, my least favorite “buzz kill” comes in early January when college football is over. When the season comes to a completion, I admit that I get a little bummed. The other sports our world has to offer are enjoyable but not of them compare – in my mind – to college football.

So the air in my sports balloon goes on for about give months and that is not very long!

You ever have that experience? Maybe it’s not with sports. Maybe you can’t wait for that vacation to Orlando, FL. Maybe you can’t wait for that special dinner out at your favorite restaurant. Maybe you can’t wait to see that friend you haven’t seen in five years.

We all have those experiences on this earth that we anticipate, get super-amped for, enjoy … and then when it comes to an end and they are over, there is an aftermath of emotions that range from disappointment to sadness to trying to find the next earthly buzz.

Could you imagine living in a place where the buzz never goes away? Could you imagine having constant, continual experiences of immeasurable joy and excitement and enthusiasm and giddiness?

Well …

There is such a place. It is called heaven. Heaven is a place of endless happiness where the exhilaration never wears off. It is a place where the enjoyment caused by experiences happen one right after the other?

Revelation 22:3-5 says, “No longer will there be anything accursed, but the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and his servants will worship him. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads. And night will be no more. They will need no light of lamp or sun, for the Lord God will be their light, and they will reign forever and ever.”

Let me go back to my opening illustration about OU football. It is acceptable to have earthly enjoyment. In fact, I would encourage it. My theory is that God allows and creates those moments of satisfaction to give us a preview of heaven. He allows the buzz to come and then to go to remind us that nothing on earth will every totally and completely satisfy.

Heaven is a place of eternal thrill. When I get to heaven, I won’t be thinking about OU kicking off another season. I won’t be thinking, “That trip to Disneyland was so awesome when I was ten years old.” I will be thinking, “Here, we are. In the presence of God. I have no sin. I have no death. I am not getting sick. I can see God as He is. I can enjoy people in the way God intended. And all of this will never end!”

 

Leave a Reply

