What About Sunday School?

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints blog references something I have been reading lately. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book, magazine article or blog post I have or am reading.

Sunday Schools have been on my mind lately. One of the reasons is this: I am part of a church that currently doesn’t have a Sunday School ministry.

There are a number of reasons our church does not have Sunday School (which I won’t go into here).

But, because we do not have Sunday School, and so many church-seekers and current church attendees want and benefit from Sunday School, the elders at our church have been asking the question, “What – if at all – do we want to do about installing such a ministry at our church?”

So, I have been reading several books on Sunday School. And frankly I have been disappointed.

My hope was to find some material out there written by “Sunday School gurus” who could flag the biblical issues of why Sunday School is critical, give some help or tips of how to implement a Sunday School ministry and then talk about how to re-evaluate them after certain periods of time.

Frankly, I haven’t found anything outstanding, which is disappointing.

So I pose the question to my blog readers today – what does your church do for Sunday School? Why? It is profitable? Are you being equipped by the Sunday School? What would make it better? Any resources (not curriculum) you would encourage me to look at on Sunday School ministries?

P.S. Next week, I hope to post a response to Matthew Vines’ book God and the Gay Christian. I am nearing the completion of it.

Leave a comment