God and the Gay Christian?

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints blog references something I have been reading lately. The post is meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book, magazine article or blog post I have or am reading.

Matthew Vines has launched quite the debate in 2014. With his book God and the Gay Christian (published by Convergent Books), the evangelical church has been arguing over his claim(s) that the Bible support same-sex relationships.

What has taken this book to an extra level of interest for me is that Vines calls my hometown of Wichita his hometown. As a former member of Westminster – which is just minutes from my own church – Vines has planted himself and his ministry here in my backyard. His Reformation Project is based here in Wichita. On his website, he says that he is “dedicated to changing church teaching on sexual orientation and gender identity.” He has expressed elsewhere he wants that to start in his hometown … my hometown … Wichita, KS.

Men I respect like Al Mohler have written counter-reviews and even a book to “go on the attack” against Vines belief in God’s endorsement of same sex marriage.

So ….

Those who know me best know I don’t read second hand resources and reviews and then count them as my own views. I go to original sources and then use those secondary sources to confirm to correct my response to the original.

So …

Tomorrow, I am going to begin reading Vines new book.

My prayer for this projects are as follows: (1) to understand what led Vines to write about this subject and to understand how he views himself as a homosexual in light of God’s Word, (2) to try to understand how we exegetes and interprets Scripture to defend same-sex relationships, and (3) to help me understand on a deeper level this ever raging debate in the church today.

This is an issue that is growing in concern for people inside and outside of the church.

We need to know what we believe. We need to know why we believe it. We need to be able to defend our views on Scripture. We need to boldly stand by those Bible-driven convictions. And we need to do so with love and concern for those not living in a way that pleases God.

So …

I will keep you updated as I read and what I am learning and where I believe we should all go from here.

Leave a Reply

