Book Review Blurb: Elders in the Life of the Church

Book Ranking – 10 out of 10

There is a small list of books I would recommend on the subjecting of making a biblical case for the office of elder. And I am going to add Elders in the Life of the Church by Phil A. Newton and Matt Schmucker to that list. While I wouldn’t say I “learned” anything new, I found many of these old truths as refreshing.

For those who are looking to answer the question, “Why elder rule,” the chapters in Part Two of the book will be a highlight as the author(s) exposit Acts 20:17-31, I Timothy 3:1-7, Hebrews 13:17-19 and I Peter 5:1-5.

Also, the synthesizing of the elder’s duties to four – doctrine, discipline, direction and distinction – is a helpful, alliterated means of examining current and aspirating elders for qualification to serve in this area of leadership.

Another special highlight is Chapter Ten, where the author(s) write about the subject of disagreements in leadership and how to best work through that example of conflict.

I would commend this book to any church leader looking for self-evaluation. I would commend this book to any church looking to hire pastoral staff into their congregation. I would commend this book to any regular attendee of a church so they might hold their leaders to the high standard God calls them to.

This book is an updated revision of the previous book Elders in Congregational Life written by the same authors.

I would like to thank Kregel Publications for giving me a copy of this book to read, review and apply to my current ministry.

 

Leave a Reply

