Happy Fathers Day, Doug Heck

I could not ask for a better Dad. I suppose the only regrettable personality quirks of my Dad are that he cheers for the Dallas Cowboys and loves peas. In most relational cases, that may be grounds for disassociation … but he’s my Dad.

HeckOn a serious note, the statement I usually make about my father to people who have never met him is that he is my mentor. So many sons and daughters have mentors outside the home or in the churches. God has been gracious to give me a mentor both in the home and the church. I have the privilege of getting to watch his life up close and personal. And I can testify that he very much practices what he preaches.

My Dad has a unique love for people unique that is patterned after everything Paul describes in I Corinthians 13. He is my supreme human example of what it means to love God and others (Matt 22:37-39).

If you are not blessed to have a fatherly figure in my life, might I suggest you meet my Dad.

Leave a Reply

