Eternal Destinies

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints blog examines something I have been reading lately. Usually, I can read about one book per week. These posts are meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book, magazine article or blog post I have or am reading.

I am quite enthused about a special series my church (Wichita Bible Church) is going to be studying this summer on heaven and hell. We have titled it “Eternal Destinies.” During our 1A groups, which is our small group ministry, we are going to be using Chip Ingram’s recent series on heaven entitled “Heaven: It’s Not What You Think” and then during the Sunday morning worship services, I will be preaching a topical exposition of the subject of hell.

So in preparation for this series, I have selected four books to read on the subject: Heaven by Randy Alcorn, The Glory of Heaven by John MacArthur, Hell on Trial by Robert Peterson and Four Views on Hell edited by William Crockett. I might supplement these with John Bunyan’s Sighs from Hell and C.S. Lewis’ The Great Divorce.

I have just began reading MacArthur and Peterson’s books and I have one simple conclusion to draw thus far: as much as I want to be in heaven is the same measure of desire I do not have to be in hell. Both of these places are very real and very consuming.

For heaven, the endless joy and celebration of being in God’s presence without sin will be unfathomable. For hell, the eternal torment and excruciation of being away from God’s presence will be immeasurable.

I cannot imagine dying, thinking I am about to meet the Creator in heaven and be introduced to immediate pain and suffering that will not be quenched.

Friends, heaven and hell are for real. And you don’t need these books I referred to or any number of these ridiculous books about people’s trips to heaven to verify the reality of eternal destinies. The Bible is sufficient enough to scare you away from hell and introduce you to heaven.

To study them both, consult, read, meditate, embrace the Bible’s teachings on them.

And make your salvation sure.

Leave a Reply

