The Wichita Divide

The Tuesday feature of the Worldly Saints blog examines something I have been reading lately. Usually, I can read about one book per week. These posts are meant to share some of my reflections from the latest book I have or am reading.

A few days ago, I started reading Wichita Divide: The Murder of Dr. George Tiller and the Battle Over Abortion. It is written by Stephen Singular who writes for The New York Times. The title of the book is somewhat self-explanatory about the subject. It is a book detailing the events leading up to the murder of abortion doctor Dr. George Tiller just a few years ago.

What prompted me to read this book is two things:

First, as some of you know, my family and I moved to Wichita, KS this January for a new opportunity of full-time ministry at Wichita Bible Church. Upon coming here, I knew very little history of Wichita other than Wyatt Earp once was deputy marshal, they have a pretty good college basketball team and something called the Summer of Mercy in 1991.

Second, I visited a local ministry here in town – only a few miles from our church – called Choices Medical Clinic. This is a Christian organization that is spreading the Gospel to women who have had unplanned pregnancies. And guess what is right next door? An abortion clinic. In fact, Dr. Tiller’s abortion clinic is the one within arm’s length of Choices. Dr. Tiller’s clinic has been the subject of national controversy over the last few decades is only a few miles from my home and my church.

So I have a vested interest in the history of this city and my immediate community. In fact, as I understand WBC has had members protest at the abortion clinic over the years and even had some elders arrested during the summer of 1991 – but that is another story for another time.

Since I am only 52 pages into the book, there is not much to say but perhaps when I complete my reading, I might re-blog about some things I learned.

What I would encourage any of you to do is this: be a student of history and especially, if at all possible, a student of your community’s history. You could be surprised what you might learn and it will only benefit you in your task of making disciples if you know the people you are trying to reach even better.

Leave a Reply

